District 8-2A Division I rivals New Boston and Daingerfield played two classics in 2012 and split the decisions.

New Boston rode Damien Haskins for 393 rushing yards and five touchdowns in a 38-37 Oct. 5 home win that ultimately propelled the Lions to a perfect regular season and district championship.

But Daingerfield avenged the loss in the Region II championship game. Edwin Mims' 70-yard punt return touchdown with 45 seconds remaining provided the difference in a 35-28 victory. ETSN.fm ranked that rematch No. 3 on the postseason 2012 East Texas Games of the Year list.

Daingerfield carried its momentum all the way to the Class 2A Division II state title game before falling to Cameron Yoe in the Tigers' East Texas-leading ninth trip to the championship round.

Haskins and Mims have graduated, but both teams bring back plenty of playmakers on both sides of the ball for their Oct. 4 showdown at Daingerfield's Mickey Mayne-Tiger Stadium.

Daingerfield quarterback Keris Alexander, who threw for more than 2,200 yards in 2012, returns to lead the Tiger offense, which will face a strong New Boston secondary that includes athletic junior Jeff Gladney, Northern Illinois-committed Jawuan Johnson, and T.Q. Dedmon.

Both teams enter the season with high expectations. The Associated Press preseason 2A poll ranks New Boston No. 6 and Daingerfield No. 7, while Dave Campbell's Texas Football ranks New Boston third and Daingerfield seventh in its 2A Division I poll. TheOldCoach.com's Friday Night Football magazine puts Daingerfield at No. 3 and New Boston at No. 11.

Just like last year, the winner will be in the 8-2A D-I title driver's seat.

ETSN.fm 2013 Preseason Top 25 Games of the Year