Six East Texans received first-team honors, while 35 players in all were recognized with the Monday release of the 2012 Collin Street Bakery Texas Sports Writers Association all-state volleyball team.

Spring Hill's Savannah Voelzke. (Christopher Vinn, Super Team Player of the Year Savannah Voelzke, Spring Hill's Arkansas-bound middle blocker, earned first-team all-state honors in Class 3A. Abilene Christian signee Dorothy Swanson (outside hitter) of White Oak and New Diana outside hitter Courtney Rogers were also first-team all-state on the Class 2A team.

East Texas boasted three Class A first-teamers: Cayuga middle blocker Danielle Anderson, Cayuga outside hitter Shawnta Knox, and Overton outside hitter Abby Mackey.

Overton setter Savannah Bobbitt was named second team all-state in 1A, and seven East Texans were named to their respective classes' third teams: Lindale middle blocker Savannah Cantrell, Pine Tree setter Emily Shelton (Tyler Junior College signee), Carthage middle blocker Iesha Bryant, Spring Hill setter Rachel Riestenberg, Elysian Fields libero Katyetlyn Busbey, and White Oak setter Morgan Baldwin.

Twenty East Texans were selected honorable mention, as listed below.

East Texans Selected To
Texas Sports Writers Association
All-State Volleyball Team

Class 5A

Honorable Mention
  • Halee Brewer, Soph., Longview (middle blocker)
  • Mallory Kuechle, Sr., Tyler Lee (outside hitter)


Class 4A

Third Team
  • Savannah Cantrell, Sr., Lindale (middle blocker)
  • Emily Shelton, Sr., Pine Tree (setter)


Honorable Mention
  • Zhanelle Geathers, Jr., Lindale (middle blocker)
  • Hannah Brown, Sr., Lindale (outside hitter)


Class 3A

First Team
  • Savannah Voelzke, Sr., Spring Hill (middle blocker)


Third Team
  • Iesha Bryant, Jr., Carthage (middle blocker)
  • Rachel Riestenberg, Jr., Spring Hill (setter)


Honorable Mention
  • Shelby Soape, Carthage (outside hitter)
  • Tony Burks, Kilgore (outside hitter)
  • Shaylee Fennell, Gilmer (setter)
  • Sarah Mendenhall, Kilgore (setter)


Class 2A

First Team
  • Dorothy Swanson, Sr., White Oak (outside hitter)
  • Courtney Rogers, Sr., New Diana (outside hitter)


Third Team
  • Kayetlyn Busbey, Sr., Elysian Fields (libero)
  • Morgan Baldwin, Sr., White Oak (setter)


Honorable Mention
  • Rebecca Green, White Oak (middle blocker)
  • Kylie Baker, Sabine (middle blocker)
  • Courtney Pedron, Redwater (middle blocker)
  • Marialle Boles, Palestine Westwood (middle blocker)
  • Hannah Jameson, Edgewood (outside hitter)
  • Alyssa Auringer, Mount Vernon (outside hitter)
  • Shelby Stillwell, White Oak (libero)


Class A

First Team
  • Danielle Anderson, Cayuga (middle blocker)
  • Abby Mackey, Sr., Overton (outside hitter)
  • Shawnta Knox, Sr., Cayuga (outside hitter)


Second Team
  • Savannah Bobbitt, Overton (setter)


Third Team
  • Cory McCullough, Cayuga (libero)


Honorable Mention
  • Ivy Rieke, Beckville (middle blocker)
  • Collyn Pinkerton, Gary (middle blocker)
  • Sabrah Shipman, Big Sandy (middle blocker)
  • Hannah Sheppard, Fruitvale (middle blocker)
  • Shelbi Jo Dodson, Beckville (outside hitter)
  • Railey Daniels, Gary (Libero)