Contact Us

Arp’s Marcalas Johnson Named MVP on 10-2A D-II All-District Football Team

Arp’s Marcalas Johnson. (Jeff Stapleton,

Two of East Texas’ top six rushers claimed top awards with the release of the 10-2A Division II all-district football team as voted by the league’s coaches.

Arp tailback Marcalas Johnson earned the district’s Most Valuable Player award following a junior campaign that saw him rush for 1,903 yards and 25 touchdowns. West Rusk senior George Anthony garnered Offensive MVP accolades after running for 2,039 yards and 20 touchdowns.

Johnson and Anthony finished sixth and fourth, respectively, among East Texas’ rushing leaders. Anthony had one of only four 2,000-yard seasons in the region this year.

District champion Garrison took home two superlative honors. Senior Cameron Rodriguez was named Defensive MVP, while second-year boss Craig Barker, who guided the Bulldogs to an 11-1 record, received Coach of the Year recognition.

Hawkins sophomore Kardaylun Tennyson was named Offensive Newcomer of the Year. Frankston freshman Gunnar Murphy received the Defensive Newcomer of the Year.

10-2A Division II All-District Football Team

West Rusk’s George Anthony runs the ball during two-a-day practices Monday at Bruce Bradshaw Stadium in New London. (Christopher Vinn,


  • MVP — Marcalas Johnson, Jr., Arp
  • Offensive MVP — George Anthony, Sr., West Rusk
  • Defensive MVP — Cameron Rodriguez, Sr., Garrison
  • Offensive Newcomer of the Year — Kardaylun Tennyson, Soph., Hawkins
  • Defensive Newcomer of the Year — Gunnar Murphy, Fr., Frankston
  • Coach of the Year — Craig Barker, Garrison


First Team Offense

Union Grove’s Garrett Gibson is brought down by the Waskom defense during their Class 2A Division II Region III bi-district playoff Thursday night in Hallsville. (Jeff Stapleton,
  • QB — Ozzie Buckner, Frankston
  • RB — Oran Jenkins, Frankston
  • RB — Demetrius Bennett, Garrison
  • RB — Cole Harwell, Hawkins
  • RB — Garrett Gibson, Union Grove
  • TE — Hunter Gray, Union Grove
  • TE — Cristian Mendez, Winona
  • TE — Landon Atchley, Arp
  • WR — Kendrick Rogers, Frankston
  • WR — Justice Bean, Frankston
  • WR — William Rogers, Garrison
  • WR — Mykel Frost, Arp
  • OL — Garrett Bowery, Union Grove
  • OL — Tyrone Hunt, Arp
  • OL — John Ross, Frankston
  • OL — Collin Carrell, Garrison
  • OL — Corey Brister, West Rusk
  • OL — Joseph Hart, Winona
  • OL — Tristan Bowins, Arp
  • OL — Joe Rivera, Frankston
  • OL — Kade Hammer, Garrison
  • OL — Tyreese Johnson, Garrison
  • OL — Triston Adkins, Union Grove.


First Team Defense

Arp LB John Hawkins. (Christopher Vinn,
  • DL — Garrett Bowery, Union Grove
  • DL — Matthew Hugo, Arp
  • DL — Kaivon Jackson, Frankston
  • DL — Josh Robison, Garrison
  • DL — Tyrone Hunt, Arp
  • DL — Caden Burton, Frankston
  • DL — Collin Carrell, Garrison
  • DL — Cole Harwell, Hawkins
  • LB — John Hawkins, Arp
  • LB — Charles Minchew, Frankston
  • LB — Michael Feaster, Garrison
  • LB — Garrett Gibson, Union Grove
  • LB — Khiran Arrington, Garrison
  • LB — Gabe Reynolds, Arp
  • LB — Evan Morris, Frankston
  • CB — Kyle Cotton, Union Grove
  • CB — Eric Hardee, West Rusk
  • CB — Mykel Frost, Arp
  • CB — Kendrick Rogers, Frankston
  • CB — William Rogers, Garrison
  • S — Corey Winks, Frankston
  • S — Chris Feaster, Garrison


First Team Special Teams

West Rusk’s Dakota McCoy. (Christopher Vinn,
  • P — Cameron Rodriguez, Garrison
  • K — Jose Cerda, West Rusk
  • K — Cameron Rodriguez, Garrison
  • UTL — Lane Youngblood, Union Grove
  • UTL — Dakota McCoy, West Rusk
  • UTL — Brett Tipps, Winona
  • UTL — Hunter Dowdle, Arp
  • UTL — Jared Thomas, Frankston
  • UTL — Cody Cooper, Garrison
  • UTL — Noah Burwell, Hawkins


Second Team Offense

Garrison’s Andrew Russell looks downfield during a first-round playoff win vs. New Diana on November 15 in Carthage. (
  • QB — Andrew Russell, Garrison
  • QB — Tristan Thompson, Union Grove
  • RB — Isaiah Baker, Arp
  • RB — Daniel Grisham, Frankston
  • RB — Logan Clark, Garrison
  • RB — Corey Sturrock, Union Grove
  • RB — Ke’Aaron Cobb, Winona
  • TE —  Michael Feaster, Garrison
  • WR — Cameron Rodriguez, Garrison
  • WR — Chris Feaster, Garrison
  • WR — Coleson Klein, Union Grove
  • WR — Waylon Morris, Frankston
  • OL — Jace Forshee, West Rusk
  • OL — William Griffin, Arp
  • OL — Kyle Boyd, Winona
  • OL — Colt Blair, Arp
  • OL — Chris Thompson, Frankston
  • OL — Josh Robinson, Garrison
  • OL — Micah Brantley, Union Grove
  • OL — Dakota Stringer, Frankston
  • OL — Joe Wright, West Rusk


Second Team Defense

Frankston RB/DB Oran Jenkins. (Christopher Vinn,
  • DL — Collin Ferrell, Union Grove
  • DL — Elijah Dews, West Rusk
  • DL — Isaiah Baker, Arp
  • DL — John Ross, Frankston
  • DL — Jesse Garvia, Garrison
  • DL — Landon Atchley, Arp
  • DL — Christopher Thompson, Frankston
  • DL — Kade Hammer, Garrison
  • DL — Hunter Gray, Union Grove
  • LB — Jake Christian, Garrison
  • LB — Kalik Hines, Arp
  • LB — Coleson Kline, Union Grove
  • LB — Tyler Pullum, Winona
  • LB — Daniel Grisham, Frankston
  • LB — Logan Clark, Garrison
  • CB — D.J. Hicks, West Rusk
  • CB — Oran Jenkins, Frankston
  • CB — Andrew Russell, Garrison
  • CB — Tyler Owens, Union Grove
  • S — Justice Bean, Frankston
  • S — Drew Roden, Hawkins
  • S — Tristan Thompson, Union Grove


Second Team Special Teams

  • P — Daniel Grisham, Frankston
  • K — Humberto Chavez, Frankston
  • K — Brant Ogilvie, Union Grove


Best of

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for - East Texas Sports Network quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Never Miss the Latest News from - East Texas Sports Network.