It's been three weeks since Longview and Tyler Lee met, and both teams have come a long way since the Lobos' 55-36 win back on Jan. 5.

Both find themselves in line for playoff berths, and the winner of Tuesday's showdown of District 12-5A rivals at Lobo Coliseum can take one step closer toward reaching the postseason.

Lee (18-8, 5-3) had a chance pull even with district-leading Mesquite in the standings last Friday, but a 3-pointer by the Skeeters in the closing seconds led to a 50-47 defeat.

The Lobos (15-12, 6-2), meanwhile, narrowly avoided an upset with a 56-54 win over Rockwall-Heath.

In District 14-5A, Lufkin (20-7, 5-2) will get another crack at No. 15 The Woodlands (24-5, 8-0, which defeated the Panthers 46-33 on Jan. 4 in Lufkin.

Meanwhile in Class 4A, Pine Tree (10-17, 3-2) plays host to Texas High (11-11, 2-3) three days after the Pirates knocked off District 14-4A-leading Mount Pleasant. Pine Tree currently occupies third place in the standings, one game ahead of both Texas High and Hallsville (10-16, 2-3), which plays host to district co-leader Marshall (20-8, 4-1).

After an eventual week in 16-4A, the teams begin the second round of district play. The marquee matchup on Tuesday features Whitehouse (19-7, 3-2) at Corsicana (21-6, 3-2), a winner of three straight.

In 16-3A, No. 19 Chapel Hill (19-7, 8-0) hits the road to take on second-place Spring Hill (18-9, 6-2) in a rematch of the Bulldogs' 65-49 win on Jan. 4.

Another big matchup Tuesday pits the top two teams in 20-3A. Jasper (6-2 in district) is at Lufkin Hudson (7-1).

In Class A Division I, two teams will have a shot at both redemption and grabbing a piece of first place in their respective districts.

No. 12 LaPoynor (21-5, 7-1 in 17-A) plays host to Martin's Mill (17-8, 8-0), three weeks after the Mustangs scored a 52-46 victory.

Meanwhile, No. 15 Tenaha (9-3, 5-0 in 22-A) travels to Joaquin (4-1 in district). The Rams' lone league loss came to Tenaha, 67-39, back on Jan. 11.

Other boys basketball games Tuesday involving ranked teams ...


Class 4A

  • No. 10 Jacksonville at Lindale


Class 3A

  • No. 22 Pleasant Grove at Liberty-Eylau


Class 2A

  • No. 2 White Oak at Elysian Fields
  • No. 3 Tatum at Waskom
  • No. 10 Clarksville at Prairiland
  • Nacogdoches Central Heights at No. 19 Palestine Westwood


Class A Division I

  • No. 3 Grapeland at Jewett Leon
  • No. 6 Cayuga at Hubbard
  • Zavalla at No. 8 San Augustine
  • Brookeland at No. 21 West Sabine


Class A Division II

  • Bloomburg at No. 11 Saltillo
  • Kennard at No. 12 Chireno
  • Apple Springs at No. 15 Laneville
  • No. 17 Douglass at Groveton Centerville