Contact Us

Carthage + Center Claim Top Honors on 20-3A All-District Football Team

Carthage quarterback Blake Bogenschutz, seen here running the ball during the Bulldogs’ 29-25 Class 3A Division I state semifinal loss to El Campo in Beaumont, was named District 20-3A MVP. (Bud Worley,

Carthage claimed three superlative honors, while Center received two with the release of the 20-3A all-district football team as voted by the league’s coaches.

Carthage junior quarterback Blake Bogenschutz was named the district’s Most Valuable Player, throwing for almost 2,900 yards, 38 touchdowns, and nine interceptions. Teammate Isaiah Golden, a defensive tackle, earned Defensive MVP honors following a senior campaign that saw the Texas A&M commit accumulate almost three dozen tackles for loss.

Center senior running back K.J. Garrett ran for almost 1,800 yards and 19 touchdowns to earn Offensive MVP accolades. Sophomore teammate Johnny Shaw picked off five passes to claim the district’s Newcomer of the Year award.

Sixth-year Carthage coach Scott Surratt, who led the Bulldogs to an 11-3 record, undefeated district championship, and a Class 3A Division I state semifinal appearance, was named 20-3A Coach of the Year.

First Team


  • QB — Steven Walker, Jr., Jasper
  • RB — Terrence Cuney, Jr., Jasper
  • RB — Tevin Pipkin, Jr., Carthage
  • RB — Bryian Bolton, Soph., Carthage
  • FB — Shawn Jones, Jr., Jasper
  • FB — Payton Klysen, Sr., Carthage
  • TE — Jack Ford, Soph., Center
  • WR — Tee Goree, Jr., Carthage
  • WR — Okeeron Rutherford, Jr., Carthage
  • WR — DeJalen Preston, Jr., Center
  • WR — Demarcus Collins, Sr., Jasper
  • WR — Shaquille Ingram, Sr., Center
  • WR — Carlos Lewis, Sr., Diboll
  • OL — Aaron Liker, Sr., Center
  • OL — Seth Johnson, Sr., Diboll
  • OL — Dominic Limbrick, Sr., Jasper
  • OL — Terrell Cuney, Jr., Jasper
  • OL — Griffin Bankhead, Jr., Carthage
  • OL — Adrian Goodacre, Jr., Carthage
  • OL — Cade Clinton, Jr., Carthage
  • OL — Dillon Husar, Jr., Carthage
  • K — Jimmy Gonzalez, Jr., Carthage
  • UTL — Major Harris, Sr., Carthage



  • DL — Dranzell Haynes, Sr., Jasper
  • DL — Jarrod McGill, Jr., Jasper
  • DL — Mario McCain, Jr., Carthage
  • DL — K’Aelin Ware, Sr., Carthage
  • DL — Lane Pearce, Sr., Carthage
  • DL — Derrick Thomas, Sr., Center
  • ILB — De’Anthony Cuney, Jr., Jasper
  • ILB — Trent Jackson, Sr., Carthage
  • ILB — Kiounis Williams, Jr., Center
  • OLB — Chris Fowler, Sr., Jasper
  • OLB — Brad Shivers, Jr., Jasper
  • OLB — Phillip Burns, Sr., Carthage
  • DB — Sammy Chhor, Sr., Carthage
  • DB — Bryian Bolton, Soph., Carthage
  • DB — Darron Bolton, Sr., Center
  • DB — DeJalen Preston, Jr., Center
  • DB — Randy Collins, Sr., Jasper
  • DB — Carlos Teal, Sr., Diboll
  • P — Louis Garcia, Jr., Diboll
  • Punt returner — Demarcus Collins, Sr., Jasper


Second Team


  • QB — Dalton Horton, Soph., Center
  • RB — Donovan Middleton, Sr., Jasper
  • RB — Derodrick Hadnot, Jr., Jasper
  • RB — Jerenzic Evans, Sr., Center
  • RB — Quintaryous Sawyer, Sr., Diboll
  • FB — Markeith Cauley, Jr., Jasper
  • TE — Jamarcus Roberson, Jr., Carthage
  • WR — Jonavan Limbrick, Sr., Jasper
  • WR — Zach Craig, Jr., Jasper
  • WR — Kolby Blissett, Jr., Carthage
  • WR — Major Harris, Sr., Carthage
  • OL — Kevin Houston, Sr., Jasper
  • OL — Anthony Orr-Wade, Sr., Jasper
  • OL — Javaris Rankin, Sr., Center
  • OL — Adam Reeves, Soph., Center
  • OL — Sylvester Riley, Sr., Center
  • OL — Edwin Hurtado, Sr., Diboll
  • OL — Cody Purvis, Sr., Diboll
  • K — Mario Lopez, Jr., Jasper
  • K — Louis Garcia, Jr., Center



  • DL — Sakedron Horn, Soph., Center
  • DL — Austin Dubose, Sr., Center
  • DL — Matthew Evans, Sr., Diboll
  • DL — Clay Boston, Jr., Huntington
  • DL — Demarie Lynch, Soph., Jasper
  • DL — Gregg Graves, Sr., Carthage
  • ILB — Quintaryous Sawyer, Sr., Diboll
  • ILB — Kywon Cartwright, Sr., Huntington
  • ILB — D.K. Calloway, Sr., Carthage
  • ILB — Jarmarcus Suell, Sr., Center
  • OLB — Derodrick Hadnot, Jr., Jasper
  • OLB — Chase Mayfield, Sr., Center
  • OLB — Jason Cook, Sr., Diboll
  • DB — Jonavan Limbrick, Sr., Jasper
  • DB — Kendal Shankle, Sr., Jasper
  • DB — Tee Goree, Jr., Carthage
  • DB — Jake Stilfe, Sr., Diboll
  • P — Alex Grimaldo, Sr., Diboll


Honorable Mention

(Diboll, Huntington, and Jasper did not submit selections)


  • Keldrean Strong, Jr., DB
  • Trevor Cooper, Jr., DB
  • Gabriel Villanueva, Sr., DB
  • Christian Allison, Jr., RB
  • Tra’Kareon Leary, Jr., LB
  • D’Vodney Brooks, Jr., LB
  • Garrett Harvey, Jr., OL
  • Demetris Powell, Sr., DL
  • Dexter Clough, Sr., DL
  • Will Harris, Sr., OL
  • Dakota Tutt, Sr., K
  • Connor Burkhalter, Sr., TE



  • C.J. Garner, Soph., OL
  • TreMarcus Yarbrough, Jr., DL
  • Jose Vallejo, Jr., DL
  • Corderius Head, Sr., DB

Best of

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for - East Texas Sports Network quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Never Miss the Latest News from - East Texas Sports Network.