Class 2A state finalist Hughes Springs took home four of six superlative honors on the 16-2A all-district baseball team.

Senior shortstop/pitcher Zach Bassham was named the district's Most Valuable Player, while teammates Cody Hawkins and Dylan Moore were voted the Offensive MVP and Pitcher of the Year, respectively.

The Hughes Springs coaching staff, led by head coach Kent Craig, was honored as Coaching Staff of the Year.

Other superlative honors went to Queen City's Jay Hawley for Defensive MVP and New Boston's William Gardner for Newcomer of the Year.


  • P -- Zane Howard, Sr., Queen City
  • P -- Foxx Smith, Soph., Redwater
  • P -- Wes Teague, Jr., New Boston
  • C -- Chad McKinney, Jr., Hughes Springs
  • 1B -- Briley Barnwell, Sr., Queen City
  • 2B -- Tate Doty, Sr., Redwater
  • SS -- Ruben Mims, Sr., Daingerfield
  • 3B -- Jacob Taylor, Jr., Hughes Springs
  • OF -- Drew Davenport, Jr., Queen City
  • OF -- Jonathan Boucher, Sr., Queen City
  • OF -- Brian Hendrix, Sr., Queen City
  • OF -- Eric Berryhill, Sr., Hughes Springs
  • OF -- Rustin McFarland, Sr., Paul Pewitt
  • DH -- Bradley Richardson, Sr., Queen City
  • Utility -- Jared Bristow, Sr., Redwater



  • P -- Corey Jolly, Soph., Redwater
  • P -- George Eubanks, Jr., Hooks
  • P -- Trent Shelton, Sr., Hughes Springs
  • P -- Clayton Jaynes, Soph., Linden-Kildare
  • C -- Shawn Hooks, Sr., Daingerfield
  • 1B -- Cameron Precise, Jr., Daingerfield
  • 2B -- Papa Chism, Sr., Hughes Springs
  • SS -- Cody Henry, Jr., Queen City
  • 3B -- Hunter Daily, Soph., Redwater
  • OF -- Wilson Teague, Jr., New Boston
  • OF -- Deven Surratt, Jr., Redwater
  • OF -- Tykeema Wilson, Sr., Daingerfield
  • DH -- Jake Whitten, Fr., Hooks
  • Utility -- Josh Terry, Sr., Daingerfield