BRYAN -- State runner-up Hughes Springs placed four players on the first team of the Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writer's Association Class 2A all-state baseball team, which was released on Tuesday.

Junior pitcher Dylan Moore, senior pitcher Zach Bassham, junior catcher Chad McKinney and senior outfielder Cody Hawkins all landed on the first team after helping lead the Mustangs to the state finals and a 36-2 record. Bassham was also named honorable mention as a shortstop.

Elkhart senior third baseman Jacob Cheatham was East Texas' other first-team member, while senior teammate Levi Smith was named to the second team at catcher.

White Oak had three players earn honorable-mention recognition -- junior pitcher Josh Benson, junior shortstop Jansen McCurdy and senior outfielder Hunter Owens.

Other honorable mention East Texans were Mount Vernon senior pitcher Daniel R. Brown, Jefferson senior pitcher Quincy Clements, Nacogdoches Central Heights senior pitcher Alex Phillips, Redwater sophomore pitcher Foxx Smith and Quitman senior outfielder Lenzie Foley.

East Texas TSWA Class 2A All-State Selections


  • Dylan Moore, P, Jr., Hughes Springs
  • Zach Bassham, P, Sr., Hughes Springs
  • Chad McKinney, C, Jr., Hughes Springs
  • Jacob Cheatham, 3B, Sr., Elkhart
  • Cody Hawkins, OF, Sr., Hughes Springs



  • Levi Smith, C, Sr., Elkhart



  • Josh Benson, P, Jr., White Oak
  • Daniel R. Brown, P, Sr., Mount Vernon
  • Quincy Clements, P, Sr., Jefferson
  • Alex Phillips, P, Sr., Nacogdoches Central Heights
  • Foxx Smith, P, Soph., Redwater
  • Zach Bassham, SS, Sr., Hughes Springs
  • Jansen McCurdy, SS, Jr., White Oak
  • Lenzie Foley, OF, Sr., Quitman
  • Hunter Owens, OF, Sr., White Oak