An undefeated run through the league and state championship season yielded a big haul for Carthage with the release of the 20-3A all-district football team as voted by coaches.

Carthage senior quarterback Blake Bogenschutz earned the district's Most Valuable Player award after throwing for school records in yardage (4,003) and touchdowns (57) and leading the Dawgs to their fourth state title in six years.

Bogenschutz, who will play college football for UTSA, finished his high school career with more than 9,500 passing yards and 119 touchdowns. His single-season touchdown pass total of 57 ranks fifth in state history. Carthage went 35-8 in three years with Bogenschutz at quarterback.

Senior defensive lineman Mario McCain garnered 20-3A Defensive MVP honors. The 6-foot, 220-pound McCain -- who started 59 varsity games, started three years on both sides of the ball, and won two state championships in his Carthage career -- recorded 129 tackles, 25 for loss, 10 sacks, two forced fumbles, one fumble recovery, and 30 quarterback pressures in 2013.

Jasper senior tailback Terrance Cuney snagged Offensive MVP honors. Cuney ran for more than 1,500 yards and 18 touchdowns in 2013, which saw Jasper finish 8-4 with a 3A Division I regional semifinal appearance.

Carthage sophomore defensive end Jarrod McLin and Center freshman receiver Octavious Evans shared Newcomer of the Year accolades. The 6-foot-3, 220-pound McLin had 73 tackles, nine for loss, four sacks, two forced fumbles, three fumble recoveries, and 24 pressures in a breakout sophomore campaign. Evans led Center in all three receiving categories with 67 catches for 734 yards and eight touchdowns.

Scott Surratt, who improved to 88-15 overall and 30-3 in the playoffs in his seven years at Carthage, was named 20-3A Coach of the Year.

20-3A All-District Football Team

Jasper's Terrance "Tiki" Cuney finished with a game-high 261 rushing yards in a 41-26 Oct. 25 home loss to Carthage. (Bud Worley,


  • MVP -- Blake Bogenschutz, Sr., QB, Carthage
  • Offensive MVP -- Terrance Cuney, Sr., RB, Jasper
  • Defensive MVP -- Mario McCain, Sr., DT, Carthage
  • Co-Newcomers of the Year
    • Octavious Evans, Fr., WR, Center
    • Jarrod McLin, Soph., DE, Carthage
  • Coach of the Year -- Scott Surratt, Carthage


Carthage's Terian "Tee" Goree (5) and Tevin Pipkin (15) lead their team onto the field before winning the Class 3A Division I state championship 34-23 against Kilgore on Friday at AT&T Stadium in Arlington. (Christopher Vinn,

First Team Offense

  • QB -- Steven Walker, Sr., Jasper
  • RB -- Tevin Pipkin, Sr., Carthage
  • RB -- Shawn Jones, Sr., Jasper
  • FB -- Gilbert Perez, Soph., Carthage
  • OL -- Jarred McGill, Sr., Jasper
  • OL -- Griffin Bankhead, Sr., Carthage
  • OL -- Adrian Goodacre, Sr., Carthage
  • OL -- Cade Clinton, Sr., Carthage
  • OL -- Dillon Husar, Sr., Carthage
  • TE -- Marquise Guinn, Soph., Carthage
  • TE -- DeAnthony Cuney, Sr., Jasper
  • WR -- Terian "Tee" Goree, Sr., Carthage
  • WR -- O'Keeron Rutherford, Sr., Carthage
  • WR -- Keldrean Strong, Sr., Carthage
  • WR -- Jamarcus Reed, Sr., Jasper
  • WR -- Josh Burns, Sr., Center
  • P -- Louis Garcia, Sr., Center
  • K -- Jimmy Gonzalez, Sr., Carthage
  • UTL -- Micah Templeton, Jr., Carthage
  • UTL -- Daniel Caldwell, Sr., Jasper
  • UTL -- Jamichael Brown, Sr., Huntington


Jasper's Randy Spikes (5) looks for running room as Carthage's Tra Leary (23) closes in during Carthage's 41-26 Oct. 25 road win. (Bud Worley,

First Team Defense

  • DL -- Markeith Cauley, Sr., Jasper
  • DL -- Chris Howard, Jr., Carthage
  • DL -- Javontay Brown, Sr., Carthage
  • DL -- Jamarcus Roberson, Sr., Carthage
  • DL -- DeAnthony Cuney, Sr., Jasper
  • ILB -- James Marshall, Jr., Carthage
  • ILB -- D'vodney Brooks, Sr., Carthage
  • ILB -- Davonta Hawhtorne, Sr., Jasper
  • OLB -- Tra'Kareon Leary, Sr., Carthage
  • OLB -- Deroddrick Hadnot, Sr., Jasper
  • OLB -- Christian Allison, Sr., Carthage
  • DB -- Bryian Bolton, Jr., Carthage
  • DB -- Terian "Tee" Goree, Sr., Carthage
  • DB -- Keldrean Strong, Sr., Carthage
  • DB -- Randy Spikes, Jr., Jasper
  • DB -- Roy Hennington, Sr., Jasper
  • PR -- Terian "Tee" Goree, Sr., Carthage


Bryian Bolton (21) runs for a score behind Griffin Bankhead (74) during the first quarter of Carthage's 55-3 Oct. 18 home win vs. Center. (Bud Worley,

Second Team Offense

  • QB -- Caiden Rainbolt, Jr., Center
  • RB -- Bryian Bolton, Jr., Carthage
  • RB -- Jeremiah Robertson, Soph., Huntington
  • OL -- Zach Quick, Sr., Jasper
  • OL -- Ashton Limbrick, Sr., Jasper
  • OL -- Lamarcus Goodwin, Soph., Center
  • OL -- Tyler Lane, Sr., Jasper
  • TE -- Cagen Baldree, Soph., Carthage
  • WR -- Dejalen Preston, Sr., Center
  • WR -- Jakeldric Jackson, Soph., Carthage
  • WR -- Zach Craig, Sr., Jasper
  • WR -- Chris Spikes, Jr., Jasper
  • P -- Taylor Evans, Sr., Huntington
  • P -- Marco Lopez, Sr., Jasper
  • K -- Louis Garcia, Sr., Center
  • K -- Roberto Jimenez, Sr., Carthage


Center LB Kiounis Williams. (Christopher Vinn,

Second Team Defense

  • DL -- Esteban Garza, Jr., Center
  • DL -- Zach Verhalen, Jr., Center
  • DL -- A.J. Moreland, Jr., Diboll
  • DL -- Blayze Kowalski, Sr., Huntington
  • ILB -- Garrett Stanley, Sr., Center
  • ILB -- Kiounis Williams, Sr., Center
  • ILB -- Matt Treadway, Jr., Huntington
  • ILB -- Trey Jackson, Sr., Carthage
  • OLB -- Taylor Horn, Sr., Jasper
  • DB -- Trevor Cooper, Sr., Carthage
  • DB -- Daniel Adams, Sr., Jasper
  • DB -- Quentin Williams, Sr., Jasper
  • DB -- Jermarcuss Jones, Sr., Center
  • DB -- Michael Garcia, Sr., Diboll


Diboll's Deverick Thompson. (Christopher Vinn,

Honorable Mention

  • Dylan Possoit, Jr., UTL
  • Kirston Ingram, Jr., DB
  • Johnathan Brown, Jr., FB
  • Seth Ward, Sr., DL
  • Garrett Harvey, Sr., OL
  • Branton Halcumb, Jr., OL
  • Trevor Broadway, Jr., OL
  • Cristian Jimenez, Jr., OL


  • C.J. Garner
  • Adam Reeves
  • DaCorey McGee
  • Pedro Mendoza
  • Jacorey Bolton
  • Sayoddrick Barnes
  • Dalton Horton


  • Raive Sheppard
  • B.J. Vinson
  • Deverick Thompson
  • Isaac Hernandez
  • Spencer Shepherd
  • Thomas Cheshire
  • Jesse Herrada


  • Alec Williams
  • LaQuinton Bryant
  • James Price