Contact Us

State Champion Douglass Dominates TSWA Class A All-State Baseball Team

Douglass players come out of the dugout to celebrate Matthew Wallace’s sixth-inning home run in a Class A state semifinal June 4 in Round Rock. The Indians defeated Dawson, 9-0. (Travis Harsch,

BRYAN – Douglass’ Matthew Wallace and Anson’s Matt Villanueva, a pair of pitchers who each were 13-1, shared player of the year honors on the Texas Sports Writers Association/Collin Street Bakery Class A All-State Baseball Team.

Wallace had an 0.43 earned run average for the state champs. Wallace, who also played shortstop, also batted .344 with 25 runs batted in. Villanueva had an 0.28 ERA, striking out 193 in leading Anson to the state semifinals.

Douglass’ Eugene Lafitte was also Coach of the Year after leading the Indians to a 33-1 record and the school’s first-ever state championship.

Wallace, sophomore pitcher Grant Holland, senior first baseman Bryce Westbrook and senior third baseman Kolten Rhoudes all represented Douglass on the first team.

Other first-teamers from East Texas were Carlisle senior pitcher Zach Brightwell and Beckville sophomore shortstop John Michael Bounds.

East Texans on the TSWA Class A All-State Baseball Team


  • Co-Player of the Year — Matthew Wallace, Douglass, Sr.
  • Coach of the Year — Eugene Lafitte, Douglass



  • Zach Brightwell, Carlisle, Sr.
  • Grant Holland, Douglass, Soph.
  • Matthew Wallace, Douglass, Sr.


First Base
  • Bryce Westbrook, Douglass, Sr.


Third Base
  • John Michael Bounds, Beckville, Soph.
  • Kolten Rhoudes, Douglass, Sr.



Second Base
  • Ty Baker, Carlisle, Sr.
  • Joe Earle, Harleton, Jr.


  • Caleb Colley, Carlisle, Sr.


Designated Hitter
  • Chris Thedford, Colmesneil, Jr.



  • Taylor Henson, Harleton, Sr.


First Base
  • Dylan Falcon, Colmesneil, Sr.


Second Base
  • Zachary Bryan, Colmesneil, Jr.


  • Cameron Burk, Cushing, Jr.


  • Reshod Williams, West Sabine, Jr.



  • Zach Brightwell, OF, Sr.


  • Matt Bailey, P, Sr.
  • Kaleb Lindsey, SS, Soph.
  • Landon Lowery, P, Sr.


  • Lane Williams, OF, Sr.


  • Grant Holland, OF, Soph.
  • Matthew Wallace, SS, Sr.


  • Matt Bullock, 3B, Sr.


West Sabine
  • Rickel Thomas, 3B, Sr.

Best of

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for - East Texas Sports Network quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Never Miss the Latest News from - East Texas Sports Network.