Contact Us

Tatum, White Oak, Troup Claim at Least Two Superlatives Apiece on 9-2A D-I All-District Team

White Oak’s Hunter Owens is tackled during the Roughnecks’ 47-32 second-round playoff loss to Grandview in Van. Owens was named District 9-2A Division I MVP by the district’s coaches. (Richard Shoemaker,

White Oak’s Hunter Owens was named Most Valuable Player of District 9-2A Division I, while Three Tatum players earned superlative awards with the release of the league’s all-district team as voted by the coaches.

Owens, a senior, rushed for more than 1,100 yards and 13 touchdowns to help the Roughnecks finish 9-3 with a second-round playoff appearance. Tatum senior running back Shaquille Johnson was named Offensive MVP, while teammate and senior linebacker Kiano Lucas was named Defensive MVP. Tatum senior Darius Whiting earned Offensive Lineman of the Year honors for the 9-3 Eagles, who reached the third round of the playoffs.

Troup senior Shaquille Rollins and Jefferson senior Sadarius Figures shared the Defensive Lineman of the Year award. White Oak junior Kris Layman received Defensive Newcomer of the Year accolades, while Troup sophomore QB Blake Lynch was named Offensive Newcomer of the Year.

No Coach of the Year was named.

First Team


  • QB — Darian Brooks, Sr., Tatum
  • QB — Dylan Gale, Jr., White Oak
  • RB — Seth Gibson, Sr., Troup
  • RB — Demetrius Hill, Jr., Tatum
  • RB — Deion Williams, Sr., Jefferson
  • FB — Qwaylen Chumley, Jr., Sabine
  • WR — Hitachi Lydia, Jr., Troup
  • WR — Andrew Stoker, Sr., Tatum
  • WR — Lucas Askew, Sr., Harmony
  • WR — Jansen McCurdy, Jr., White Oak
  • WR — Gabe Michael, Jr., White Oak
  • TE — Alvaro Castillo, Sr., Sabine
  • TE — Quincy Clements, Sr., Jefferson
  • OL — Colton Brown, Sr., Sabine
  • OL — Tristen Wallsworth, Jr., Troup
  • OL — Tristan Durden, Sr., Tatum
  • OL — Joseph Schmidt, Sr., Tatum
  • OL — Blake Mosley, Sr., Jefferson
  • OL — Jason Heim, Jr., White Oak
  • OL — Brandon Murphy, Jr., Harmony
  • K — Gabe Leon, Sr., Troup



  • DT — De Sutton, Jr., White Oak
  • DT — Collin Gage, Jr., Tatum
  • DT — Keaton Blanton, Jr., Tatum
  • DT — Anthony Atkins, Sr., Troup
  • DE — Jason Heim, Jr., White Oak
  • DE — Wesley Thompson, Sr., Troup
  • DE — Alexis Garza, Sr., Tatum
  • ILB — Chris Smith, Jr., Jefferson
  • ILB — Levi Thompson, Jr., Harmony
  • ILB — Keshawn Smith, Soph., Tatum
  • ILB — Michael Davis, Sr., Troup
  • ILB — Tyler Loven, Sr., White Oak
  • OLB — Devin Boyd, Soph., Tatum
  • OLB — Reid Rendon, Sr., Harmony
  • OLB — Riley Lakin, Jr., White Oak
  • DB — Tim McCoy, Jr., Harmony
  • DB — Javolick Garrett, Sr., Tatum
  • DB — Klifton Willis, Jr., Tatum
  • DB — Anfernee Ross, Jr., Troup
  • P — Jacob Fielden, Jr., Harmony



  • Dustin Koehn, Sr., White Oak
  • Jared Streeter, Sr., Sabine
  • Ethan Edwards, Jr., Harmony
  • Hunter Rosenthal, Sr., Tatum
  • Marcus Kincade, Soph., Troup
  • L.D. Holt, Sr., Jefferson


Special Teams

  • Gabe Michael, Jr., White Oak
  • Tyler Mustin, Soph., Sabine
  • Ethan Edwards, Jr., Harmony
  • Garrett Ross, Sr., Tatum
  • Gabe Leon, Sr., Troup
  • Lane House, Sr., Jefferson


Second Team


  • QB — Collin Gray, Jr., Sabine
  • QB — Alan Peralta, Sr., Harmony
  • RB — Darion Barr, Sr., White Oak
  • RB — Marcus Kincaid, Soph., Troup
  • RB — Jaylen Shans, Jr., Tatum
  • FB — Michael Davis, Sr., Troup
  • WR — Brandon Hearron, Jr., Troup
  • WR — Richard Lacy, Sr., Troup
  • WR — C.J. Whitaker, Sr., Tatum
  • WR — Jacob Fielden, Jr., Harmony
  • WR — Hayden Nichols, Jr., White Oak
  • TE — Tanner Emery, Jr., Troup
  • TE — Hunter Little, Jr., Harmony
  • OL — Josh Eppler, Sr., Jefferson
  • OL — Dylan Cook, Sr., Sabine
  • OL — Riley Henson, Jr., Harmony
  • OL — Mickey McFall, Jr., White Oak
  • OL — Jaylen Ward, Jr., Tatum
  • OL — Jared Kimberly, Jr., Tatum
  • OL — D’Zavier Harris, Sr., Troup
  • OL — Alex Hall, Sr., Troup
  • K — Austin Russell, Jr., Sabine
  • K — Alexis Garza, Sr., Tatum



  • DT — Jeffery Davis, Sr., White Oak
  • DT — Landon Templin, Sr., Jefferson
  • DT — Landon Wigington, Soph., Harmony
  • DT — Marquis Davis, Soph., Troup
  • DE — Adrian Drake-Jones, Sr., Jefferson
  • DE — Lane Newton, Sr., White Oak
  • DE — Daniel Cooley, Sr., Sabine
  • ILB — Sam Smith, Soph., Sabine
  • ILB — Bradley Stewart, Sr., Troup
  • ILB — Devante Singleton, Sr., Jefferson
  • OLB — Corey Smith, Jr., Jefferson
  • OLB — Darion Barr, Sr., White Oak
  • OLB — Jacob Beaty, Sr., Troup
  • DB — Cass Carr, Jr., White Oak
  • DB — Terrance Whitaker, Jr., Jefferson
  • DB — C.J. Whitaker, Sr., Tatum
  • DB — Chris Bell, Sr., Troup
  • DB — Daven Murphree, Sr., Harmony
  • P — Gabe Leon, Sr., Troup
  • P — Dusty Richardson, Jr., Tatum

Best of

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for - East Texas Sports Network quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Never Miss the Latest News from - East Texas Sports Network.