Athens' undefeated run through the regular season yielded all but two of its district's top seven superlative awards with the release of the 15-3A all-district football team as voted by the league's coaches.

Athens senior quarterback Anthony Sanders, who accounted for 1,119 total yards of offense and 14 touchdowns, was named the district's Most Valuable Player. Sophomore fullback Logan Fuller set a school record with 1,727 rushing yards and 27 touchdowns en route to the league's Offensive Player of the Year award.

Athens LB K.J. Cumby. (Christopher Vinn,

Senior linebacker K.J. Cumby led the 10-1 Hornet with 102 tackles, two interceptions, two sacks, three forced fumbles, and two fumble recoveries to earn Defensive Player of the Year accolades. Sophomore Travon Fuller returned one kickoff and one punt for touchdowns and was named 15-3A's Special Teams Player of the Year.

In his fifth season at the helm, Athens' Paul Essary led the Hornets to double-digit wins for the second time to garner district Coach of the Year recognition.

Van junior defensive end Brice Borgeson, who had 116 tackles, 18 for loss, and four sacks, earned Defensive Newcomer of the Year honors, while Mineola freshman quarterback Jeremiah Crawford was named the league's Offensive Newcomer of the Year after amassing 1,405 total yards of offense and 16 total touchdowns.

Athens had 10 first-team selections. District runner-up Van had seven first-teamers, although junior running back Matt Savis, who ran for a district-best 1,901 yards, was placed on the second team.

Mineola's Jeremiah Crawford looks downfield during a first-round playoff loss to Gilmer in Tyler. (Christopher Vinn,

2013 15-3A All-District Football Team


  • MVP -- Anthony Sanders, QB, Sr., Athens
  • Offensive Player of the Year -- Logan Fuller, FB, Soph., Athens
  • Defensive Player of the Year -- K.J. Cumby, LB, Sr., Athens
  • Special Teams Player of the Year -- Travon Fuller, Soph., Athens
  • Offensive Newcomer of the Year -- Jeremiah Crawford, Fr., Mineola
  • Defensive Newcomer of the Year -- Brice Borgeson, DE, Jr., Van
  • Coach of the Year -- Paul Essary, Athens


Canton's Chandler Eiland fires off a pass during the Eagles' 48-0 loss to Gladewater in their Class 3A Division II Region II bi-district playoff Nov. 14 in Lindale. (Christopher Vinn,

First-Team Offense

  • QB -- Chandler Eiland, Jr., Canton
  • RB -- Devin Hall, Jr., Athens
  • RB -- Rhett Self, Sr., Mineola
  • TE -- Nic Fincher, Sr., Athens
  • TE -- Caleb Seale, Soph., Brownsboro
  • WR -- Layton Myers, Jr., Van
  • WR -- Luke McGowan, Jr., Van
  • WR -- Will Bailey, Jr., Brownsboro
  • WR -- Brad Wiggins, Sr., Canton
  • WR -- Ryan Slider, Sr., Canton
  • C -- Coltin Rice, Sr., Van
  • G -- Barrett Senyckyi, Jr., Athens
  • G -- Hunter Creech, Sr., Mineola
  • T -- Juan Guzman, Sr., Athens
  • T -- Kaleb Dike, Jr., Van
  • K -- Willie Tinajero, Soph., Mineola


Van's Matt Savis runs the ball during the Vandals' 2012 first-round playoff loss to Henderson in Tyler. (Christopher Vinn,

Second-Team Offense

  • QB -- Peter Maddox, Jr., Van
  • RB -- Matt Savis, Jr., Van
  • RB -- Dylan Schneider, Sr., Mabank
  • TE -- Logan Allen, Jr., Athens
  • WR -- Deandre Cook, Sr., Brownsboro
  • WR -- Dalton Reeder, Jr., Mabank
  • WR -- Kendrick Jones, Soph., Van
  • C -- Josh Hurst, Sr., Mineola
  • G -- John Arellano, Sr., Athens
  • G -- Wyatt Santos, Jr., Van
  • T -- Jared Bailey, Sr., Athens
  • T -- Jacob Wages, Sr., Brownsboro
  • K -- Pedro Valdez, Sr., Mabank


Van's Luke McGown hits a crease during a 2012 regular season-closing home win against Canton. (

First-Team Defense

  • DT -- Tyler Trussell, Jr., Athens
  • DT -- Manuel Lugo, Jr., Athens
  • DT -- Marcos Garza, Sr., Mabank
  • DE -- Samuel Miller, Jr., Canton
  • DE -- Ben Buchannon, Jr., Van
  • ILB -- Adam Stallings, Sr., Athens
  • ILB -- Brandon Melo, Sr., Mineola
  • OLB -- Colton Hayes, Sr., Van
  • OLB -- Chris Jefferson, Sr., Athens
  • CB -- Nikell Roberts, Jr., Athens
  • CB -- Ryan Slider, Sr., Canton
  • S -- Garrett Lawyer, Jr., Athens
  • S -- Will Bailey, Jr., Brownsboro
  • S -- Brett Doring, Soph., Van
  • P -- Will Bailey, Jr., Brownsboro


Brownsboro's Braylon Wehrman (right) tackles Canton's Jordan Jackson during Canton's Nov. 2 road win. (Alison Owen,

Second-Team Defense

  • DT -- Quentin McKenzie, Sr., Brownsboro
  • DT -- Tristan Ford, Soph., Van
  • DE -- Chris Prox, Jr., Athens
  • DE -- Ty Winkelvoss, Soph., Mabank
  • ILB -- Braylon Wehrman, Jr., Brownsboro
  • ILB -- Brazos Hesskew, Soph., Canton
  • OLB -- Timothy Tanner, Jr., Athens
  • OLB -- Stephen Tucker, Jr., Mabank
  • CB -- Brad Wiggins, Sr., Canton
  • CB -- Eric Lemus, Sr., Van
  • S -- Tre Fitzgerald, Soph., Canton
  • S -- Colt Conway, Jr., Mabank
  • P -- Luke McGowan, Jr., Van


Athens' Logan Fuller (39) finds room to run in a Nov. 8 home win vs. Brownsboro as Bears defenders Deandre Cook (9) and Caleb Seale (82) try to make the stop. (Alison Owen,