Five Longview basketball players and four Tyler Lee players were honored on the 12-5A all-district team, headlined by Lee forward Taylor Tankersley and Longview guard Jordan Whitaker.

The 6-foot-5 Tankersley, a senior, was named Offensive Player of the Year after leading the Red Raiders to a first-round playoff appearance. The 6-foot-4, a junior, Whitaker shared Defensive Player of the Year honors with North Mesquite's Mike Williams.

Voting was conducted by the league's coaches.

A major positive for Longview coach Billy Goffney, who led the Lobos to a 20-15 record and first-round playoff appearance in his second season, is all five of his players who were honored on the all-district team will be back in 2013-14.

Junior forward Dorian Leonard and post Zaycoven Henderson were named first-team all-district. Junior post Cadell Williams and junior guard Travin Howard were selected to the second team.

Lee junior guard Caleb Johnston was named first-team all-district, while senior teammates Tucker Boyd and Will Dougherty were named to the second team.

Mesquite's Alex Cooper and Mesquite Horn's Anthony Sharp shared Player of the Year accolades. Rockwall-Heath's Tyler Zivney and Mesquite Horn's Adrian Chevis shared Newcomer of the Year honors.

Mesquite's Brian Curts was named Coach of the Year after leading the Skeeters to the district championship. Mesquite lost 50-48 in the second round against Richardson.

The entire team as submitted by the district's coaches is listed below.

Longview's Jordan Whitaker puts up a shot during the Lobos' 51-37 win over Tyler Lee on Jan. 29 in Longview. (© Christopher R. Vinn/

12-5A All-District Boys Basketball Team


  • Co-Players of the Year -- Alex Cooper, Mesquite; Anthony Sharp, Mesquite Horn
  • Offensive Player of the Year -- Taylor Tankersley, Tyler Lee
  • Co-Defensive Players of the Year -- Jordan Whitaker, Longview; Mike Williams, North Mesquite
  • Newcomers of the Year -- Tyler Zivney, Rockwall-Heath; Adrian Chevis, Mesquite Horn
  • Coach of the Year -- Brian Curts, Mesquite


First Team

  • Caleb Johnston, Jr., Tyler Lee
  • Norman Alexander, Sr., North Mesquite
  • Zach Charles, Sr., Mesquite Horn
  • Dorian Leonard, Jr., Longview
  • Zaycoven Henderson, Jr., Longview
  • Camron Talley, Fr., Rockwall-Heath
  • Aaron Maxwell, Sr., Rockwall
  • Rashard Higgins, Sr., Mesquite
  • Davion Keys, Sr., Mesquite
  • Skylar Simmons, Jr., Rockwall


Second Team

  • Tucker Boyd, Sr., Tyler Lee
  • Dameon Gamblin, Sr., Mesquite
  • Jarrison Stewart, Soph., Mesquite Horn
  • Luke Ramirez, Jr., Rockwall-Heath
  • Will Dougherty, Sr., Tyler Lee
  • Jackson Zivney, Soph., Rockwall-Heath
  • Cadell Williams, Jr., Longview
  • Travin Howard, Jr., Longview
  • De'john Shealey, Jr., Mesquite
  • Javonte Wilson, Sr., Mesquite