Contact Us

Mount Pleasant QB Montravious James Named District 14-4A MVP

Mount Pleasant quarterback Montravious James runs the ball during the Tigers’ 54-49 home win vs. Mount Pleasant on Nov. 2. (Richard Shoemaker,

Mount Pleasant senior quarterback Montravious James received District 14-4A Most Valuable Player honors with the release of the league’s all-district team as voted by coaches.

Versatile Sulphur Springs junior Willy Ivery was named Offensive Player of the Year, while Texas High junior linebacker Anthony Rhone earned Defensive Player of the Year accolades. Sulphur Springs senior Jenner Jackson was named Offensive Lineman of the Year and Texas High senior defensive tackle Jonathan Hunt received Defensive Lineman of the Year.

James led Mount Pleasant to an 8-3 record and second-place finish in 14-4A. He threw for 3,323 yards, 39 touchdowns, and nine interceptions and ran for 747 yards and 14 touchdowns.

Ivery helped Sulphur Springs finish 8-3 with the 14-4A championship. He had 86 carries for 914 yards and 22 touchdowns, while snagging 54 passes for 674 yards and six scores. Rhone had almost 150 tackles to lead the Tigers, who finished 3-7 with a first-round playoff loss.

Offensive Newcomer of the Year went to Hallsville’s Logan Bailey. Defensive Newcomer was Sulphur Springs’ Zach Spigner. Both are sophomores.

First Team


  • QB — Montravious James, Mount Pleasant
  • QB — Macailyn Wilder, Hallsville
  • RB — Buddy Ivery, Sulphur Springs
  • RB — Treveon Walker, Texas High
  • RB — Thaddeus Fagan, Hallsville
  • TE/H-back — Jackie Allen, Texas High
  • TE/H-back — Travis Teodorczyk, Hallsville
  • WR — Cole Hill, Sulphur Springs
  • WR — Colton Wise, Sulphur Springs
  • WR — Marek Reyes, Marshall
  • WR — Andrew Flanagan, Mount Pleasant
  • WR — Andre Jones, Hallsville
  • WR — K.D. Cannon, Mount Pleasant
  • WR — Willy Ivery, Sulphur Springs
  • OL — Jenner Jackson, Sulphur Springs
  • OL — Landon Watkins, Sulphur Springs
  • OL — Thomas Tucker, Mount Pleasant
  • OL — Devon Hargrove, Mount Pleasant
  • OL — Corey Lowe, Texas High
  • OL — Justin Lewis, Texas High
  • OL — Hayden Wall, Hallsville
  • OL — Logan Bailey, Hallsville



  • DT — Antun Walton, Sulphur Springs
  • DT — Demond Craddock, Mount Pleasant
  • DT — Eddie Calico, Pine Tree
  • DT — Jonathan Hunt, Texas High
  • DT — MIchael Wilbur, Hallsville
  • DE — T’Neous Smith, Mount Pleasant
  • DE — Keyotrick Brown, Pine Tree
  • DE — Joseph Meredith, Texas High
  • DE — Coby Bradford, Hallsville
  • ILB — Kris Johnson, Marshall
  • ILB — Jarvis Wall, Pine Tree
  • ILB — Anthony Rhone, Texas High
  • ILB — Tyler Martinez, Hallsville
  • OLB — Josh Scoggins, Mount Pleasant
  • OLB — Devaughn Willis, Texas High
  • OLB — Cayden Ferrill, Hallsville
  • CB — TaCory Robinson, Marshall
  • CB — Laderius Craddock, Mount Pleasant
  • CB — Kevin Harris, Texas High
  • CB — Santos Estrada, Hallsville
  • S — Larry Pryor, Sulphur Springs
  • S — Zach Spigner, Sulphur Springs
  • S — S. Gonzalez, Mount Pleasant
  • S — Marquan Daniels, Texas High
  • S — Jesse Navarro, Hallsville


Special Teams

  • K — Tony Bravo, Sulphur Springs
  • K — Paden Brown, Hallsville
  • P — Jake Oden, Pine Tree
  • P — Dakota Hunter, Texas High
  • Return Specialist — Deondre Osborne, Marshall
  • Return Specialist — Andre Jones, Hallsville


Second Team


  • QB — Jake Oden, Pine Tree
  • QB — Brad Macek, Sulphur Springs
  • RB — Terrance Taylor, Mount Pleasant
  • RB — Nolan Allen, Marshall
  • RB — Qway Ward, Pine Tree
  • RB — Corvell Marshall, Pine Tree
  • TE/H-back — Blaine Hayes, Marshall
  • WR — Victor Hawkins, Pine Tree
  • WR — Jacque Kuykendall, Marshall
  • WR — Chris Williams, Marshall
  • WR — Mitchell Leonard, Marshall
  • WR — Mason Hays, Pine Tree
  • WR — Harold Stoker, Texas High
  • WR — Caleb Chumley, Pine Tree
  • OL — T. Walker, Mount Pleasant
  • OL — Jojuan Grant, Texas High
  • OL — Tristian Smith, Texas High
  • OL — Will Kornman, Hallsville
  • OL — Johnathan Patterson, Marshall
  • OL — Jacob Smith, Pine Tree
  • OL — Tucker Johnson, Sulphur Springs



  • DT — Heath Howard, Sulphur Springs
  • DT — DaMontre Clark, Marshall
  • DT — Lavonte Henry, Texas High
  • DT — Tray King, Hallsville
  • DE — Bryton Wood, Sulphur Springs
  • DE — Jeremy Walters, Pine Tree
  • DE — Demarquan Bailey, Texas High
  • DE — Alberto Balderas, Marshall
  • ILB — Cody Brantley, Mount Pleasant
  • ILB — Dustin Fryer, Sulphur Springs
  • ILB — Jermany Allen, Pine Tree
  • ILB — Nich Christen, Texas High
  • ILB — Roderick Boyd, Hallsville
  • OLB — Nolan Allen, Marshall
  • OLB — Robert Hines, Pine Tree
  • OLB — Blake Doughtie, Sulphur Springs
  • OLB — JaMarlon Brown, Texas High
  • CB — Jamald McGill, Mount Pleasant
  • CB — Trevor Thomas, Pine Tree
  • CB — Lamarcus Reese, Pine Tree
  • CB — JaVonte Parker, Marshall
  • S — Dontavious Boyd, Marshall
  • S — Jamarcus Fontenot, Texas High
  • S — Jacque Kuykendall, Marshall
  • S — Damarvion Gree, Pine Tree
  • S — Luke Hill, Mount Pleasant


Special Teams

  • K — Stephen Crenshaw, Texas High
  • K — Juan Buitron, Sulphur Springs
  • P — Marek Reyes, Marshall
  • P — Austin Toney, Hallsville
  • Return Specialist — Marek Reyes, Marshall
  • Return Specialist — Mason Hays, Pine Tree


Honorable Mention

  • Pine Tree — OL Will Mitchell, RB Jonathan Giddings, LB Evan Estes, DB Jaleen Patterson, LB Christopher Chadwick, UTL Justin Bledsoe, QB Caleb Chumley
  • Hallsville — QB Austin Toney, OL Brent Rogers, DE David Jackson
  • Mount Pleasant — WR Ty Wilkerson, WR Jaquille Rogers, OL Ryan Spigener, OL Mackenzie Rosborough, LB Andres Sanchez, DL Joel Bautista
  • Marshall — OL Dacota Brooks, OL Katrail Flanagan, OL Ivan Monzon, OL Chett Munden, QB Justin Hart



Best of ETSN

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Register on - East Texas Sports Network quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!

Not a member? Sign up here

Register on - East Texas Sports Network quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!

Never Miss the Latest News from - East Texas Sports Network.