Patrick Mahomes was named Most Valuable Player on the boys 16-4A all-district basketball team, which was voted on by the league's coaches.

Mahomes led district champion Whitehouse to the third round of the playoffs where the Wildcats fell to second-ranked Lancaster 84-64 earlier this week. Whitehouse's Brent Kelley was also awarded with a superlative, earning Coach of the Year honors after guiding his team to the league title in his first season at the helm.

Other awards went to Jacksonville senior Raybon Riden (Offensive MVP), John Tyler junior Rodney Bendy (Defensive MVP) and Lindale sophomore Jordan Gray (Newcomer of the Year).

Boys 16-4A All-District Basketball Team


  • District MVP -- Patrick Mahomes, Whitehouse, Sr.
  • Offensive MVP -- Raybon Riden, Jacksonville, Sr.
  • Defensive MVP -- Rodney Bendy, John Tyler, Jr.
  • Newcomer of the Year -- Jordan Gray, Lindale, Soph.
  • Coach of the Year -- Brent Kelley, Whitehouse


Jacksonville's Datavion Thacker puts up a shot against Whitehouse during their game Friday night at Whitehouse's Wildcat Arena. (Christopher R. Vinn,


  • Mike Lewis, Corsicana, Sr.
  • Daytron Thompson, Jacksonville, Sr.
  • Mason Terry, Lindale, Sr.
  • Tyler Underwood, Nacogdoches, Jr.
  • Kwa Jones, Nacogdoches, Sr.
  • Spencer Shaw, Whitehouse, Sr.
  • Jaylon Dews, Whitehouse, Sr.
  • Jonah McKissack, Corsicana, Soph.
  • Datavion Thacker, Jacksonville, Soph.
  • Jordan Caldwell, John Tyler, Sr.
  • Keaunte Humber, John Tyler, Sr.


John Tyler's Isaac Warren passes the ball to a teammate during the Lions' game at Whitehouse on Jan. 14. (Christopher R. Vinn,


  • Jamaal Evans, Corsicana, Jr.
  • Isaac Warren, John Tyler, Jr.
  • Court Brown, Lindale, Sr.
  • Ralph Watts, Corsicana, Jr.
  • Claude Franklin, Jacksonville, Sr.
  • Darren Farmer, John Tyler, Sr.
  • Jacob Capo, Lindale, Sr.
  • Dequan Batiste, Nacogdoches, Jr.
  • Jake Parker, Whitehouse, Sr.
  • Brady Hill, Whitehouse, Sr.