District champion San Augustine garnered two superlatives and shared another with the release of the 23-A Division I all-district boys basketball team, as voted by district coaches.

San Augustine senior Bobby Tanner was named co-Most Valuable Player with Pineland West Sabine junior Rickel Thomas. San Augustine junior Jarvis Smith was named Offensive MVP, while Tory Barnes, who led the Wolves to a 23-7 record and their first state semifinal appearance in 40 years, received Coach of the Year honors.

Zavalla senior Johnny West claimed the Defensive Player of the Year award. Teammates Garrett Lee and Cade Birchfield shared the Freshman of the Year accolades. Broaddus sophomores Jadarin Taylor and Zaryan Price shared Newcomer of the Year honors.

San Augustine, Broaddus, and West Sabine each had two players named to the all-district first team.


  • Co-MVP -- Bobby Tanner, Sr., San Augustine and Rickel Thomas, Jr., West Sabine
  • Offensive Player of the Year -- Jarvis Smith, Jr., San Augustine
  • Defensive Player of the Year -- Johnny West, Sr., Zavalla
  • Co-Newcomers of the Year -- Jadarin Taylor, Soph., Broaddus and Zaryan Price, Soph., Broaddus
  • Co-Freshmen of the Year -- Zavalla's Garrett Lee and Cade Birchfield


First Team

  • Devin Brooks, Sr., Broaddus
  • Austin Kollet, Sr., Broaddus
  • JaCourtney Thomas, Sr., San Augustine
  • Dezmond Randle, Jr., San Augustine
  • Nick Williams, Jr., West Sabine
  • Desmond Lacey, Sr., West Sabine
  • Michael Day, Jr., Zavalla


Second Team

  • P.J. Johnson, Soph., Broaddus
  • Justin Bobbitt, Soph., Broaddus
  • Al Horton, Sr., San Augustine
  • Zhikavan Wilson, Sr., San Augustine
  • Reshod Williams, Soph., West Sabine
  • Dillon Renfro, Sr., Zavalla