Contact Us

League Champion Douglass Claims Four Top Honors on 21-A All-District Baseball Team

Douglass’ Grant Holland fires a pitch during a Class A Region III semifinal series vs. Harleton on May 24 in Kilgore. Holland has been named District 21-A Newcomer of the Year. (Christopher Vinn,

Douglass’ run to the Class A Region III championship game resulted in four of the six superlative honors on the 21-A all-district baseball team as voted by league coaches.

Douglass junior Matthew Wallace was named Most Valuable Player, while classmate Brandon Stanfield received Defensive Player of the Year honors. Freshman Grant Holland was tabbed as Newcomer of the Year.

Eugene Lafitte, who led Douglass to a 20-5 record, was named Coach of the Year.

Cushing senior Brooks Robey was named Offensive Player of the Year, while Shelbyville senior Blaine Deal garnered the Pitcher of the Year award.

21-A All-District Baseball Team

  • MVP — Matthew Wallace, Jr., Douglass
  • Offensive Player of the Year — Brooks Robey, Sr., Cushing
  • Defensive Player of the Year — Brandon Stanfield, Jr., Douglass
  • Newcomer of the Year — Grant Holland, Fr., Douglass
  • Pitcher of the Year — Blaine Deal, Sr., Shelbyville
  • Coach of the Year — Eugene Lafitte, Douglass


First Team

  • Pitcher — Bryce Westbrook, Jr., Douglass
  • Pitcher — Will Vaughn, Sr., Joaquin
  • Pitcher — Lane Williams, Jr., Cushing
  • Catcher — Lance Lawson, Jr., Joaquin
  • Catcher — Braden Robey, Sr., Cushing
  • First base — Gage Belrose, Jr., Joaquin
  • First base — Blake Ham, Soph., Cushing
  • Infielder — James Bradford, Sr., Shelbyville
  • Infielder — Hunter Ammonds, Sr., Mount Enterprise
  • Infielder — Jordan Powdrill, Sr., Joaquin
  • Infielder — Cameron Burk, Soph., Cushing
  • Infielder — Reed Westbrook, Sr., Douglass
  • Infielder — Kolten Rhoudes, Jr., Douglass
  • Outfielder — Caleb Stracener, Sr., Shelbyville
  • Outfielder — Sawyer Wilburn, Sr., Shelbyville
  • Outfielder — Terrance Brown, Jr., Timpson
  • Outfielder — Brandon Torres, Soph., Timpson
  • Outfielder — Peyton Burton, Soph., Martinsville
  • Outfielder — Wyatt Hairgrove, Sr., Joaquin
  • Utility — Michael Robey, Soph., Cushing
  • Utility — Dillon Brown, Sr., Shelbyville


Second Team

  • Pitcher — Brandon Schilder, Jr., Shelbyville
  • Pitcher — Michael Franks, Sr., Timpson
  • Catcher — Charlie Bailey, Sr., Mount Enterprise
  • Catcher — Colton Brown, Jr., Shelbyville
  • First base — Tyre Barnes, Jr., Tenaha
  • First base — Chase Higginbotham, Sr., Chireno
  • Infielder — Hunter Lee, Soph., Douglass
  • Infielder — C.J. Watson, Soph., Shelbyville
  • Infielder — Tanner Murdock, Jr., Timpson
  • Infielder — Cy Compton, Soph., Martinsville
  • Infielder — Cade Dillard, Sr., Mount Enterprise
  • Infielder — Chance Young, Sr., Mount Enterprise
  • Infielder — Tanner Barton, Fr., Cushing
  • Outfielder — Cheyenne Clark, Sr., Shelbyville
  • Outfielder — Cole Powdrill, Fr., Joaquin
  • Outfielder — Dedan Egan, Jr., Cushing
  • Outfielder — Trent Hensley, Jr., Cushing
  • Outfielder — Taylor Schroeder, Soph., Douglass
  • Outfielder — Chase Dyson, Soph., Douglass



Best of

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for - East Texas Sports Network quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Never Miss the Latest News from - East Texas Sports Network.